Sunday, December 2, 2018

2.0 (Movie Review 2/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Shankar's grand spectacular 2.0 has it all , first grade CGI , two superstars , a believable story line embedded with a great message but what it doesn’t have is the subtle art of knowing when to stop which makes this whole experience exhausting and tiring.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (Movie Review 2.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Hollywood these days is all about cinematic universes we have MCU, DC universe, Monsterverse, StarWars universe etc. and the thing about such movies is that audience already has a set of expectations. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald belongs to Wizarding World and is the second instalment in the Fantastic Beasts film series, and the tenth overall considering the Harry Potter film series. As an audience my expectations with the Wizarding World movies are adventurous storyline, unique Wizarding world elements (flying brooms, mysterious creatures etc.) and Magic, lots of CGI, wand waving, unique chanting driven Magic. Do we get all that with “Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald”? my answer is Yes but maybe not in a balanced format.

Friday, September 7, 2018

The Nun - Movie Review (3/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Basic criteria to judge a horror film as I always say is how good it is in scaring the audience and The Nun does a very decent job in that perspective. What makes a horror flick from decent to great is its ability to stay with you after it's over and let your imaginative mind keep the experience alive, that's where The Nun doesn't score well.

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Final Round Of Pepsi Battle Of The Bands - Time to decide Xarb or Bayaan

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Finally the Pepsi Battle of the Bands is wrapping up for the season. Voting lines are open and winner will be announced soon.
Last 2 episodes were the best so far this season especially Episode 6 where the theme was old classics from Pakistani film music.

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Load Wedding - Movie Review (4/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Nabeel Qureshi's Load Wedding is a satire on issues within Pakistani lower middleclass family culture with just the right mixture of comedy, complex characters and intense emotions. The best thing about this film is that it educates and entertains at the same time.

Friday, August 24, 2018

Jawani Phir Nahi Ani 2 - Movie Review (3.5 / 5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)



Jawani Phir Nahi Ani was the first film I reviewed when I started this blog in 2015 and I revisited the review again today and amazingly that review is valid for Jawani Phir nahi Ani 2 as well. The only thing that has changed from the first film is when the love story of Sherry takes over in the second half , film takes a relatively serious tone this time.

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Parwaaz Hai Junoon - Movie Review (3.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Parwaaz Hai Junoon by Momina & Duraid productions and distributed by Hum films left me confused. I was not sure as an audience what filmmakers wanted me to focus on. IT's a brilliantly performed, beautifully shot , well directed and technically superior film but also at the same time narrative has so many sub stories scattered throughout to call it a complete film.

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Crazy Rich Asians - Movie Review (3.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Recently we are having Asian (mainly South East and East) overdose in the cinema houses, starting with Skyscraper being setup in Hong Kong, followed by The Meg taking us through Thailand and China, and now with “Crazy Rich Asians” the Asian experience reaches its maximum and lands us in Singapore, in the most spectacular way possible. Crazy Rich Asians is a 2018 American romantic comedy-drama film based on Kevin Kwan's novel of the same name. It is the first film by a major Hollywood studio in 25 years to feature Asian-Americans in the predominant leading roles in fact you don’t have any other race in this film but Asians.