Thursday, January 23, 2020

Street Dancer 3D - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Nora Fatehi is a dance goddess if you don’t believe me then go watch Remo D'Souza ‘s Street Dancer 3D. When we go for a movie like Street Dancer 3D, we expect great music, engaging storyline, lovable star cast and crazy dance moves. This one has it all and on top of that, there is a very sweet message wrapped with in the narrative that humanity is above all other associations like nationality, religion etc. The only thing it suffers from is relatively weaker direction but between Nora Fatehi's electrifying dance steps and Prabhu Deva's nostalgic Moqabla moves this issue never emerges fully.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Social Connect with Sana Fakhar

Interview and Photography by Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)





I last interviewed Sana Fakhar for my social connect segment in 2018 and since then we stayed in touch. When I found out she is here in Dubai for some collaboration, I contacted her for an interview, to which she agreed. My idea was to interview post success of GEO network's drama "Tu Mera Junoon" and about her second innings in Pakistan entertainment industry. We met in Dubai Festival City mall and interview soon turned into a discussion on important topics like individuality, feminism, fitness etc. and I was really impressed with how evolved she is as a human being.
I still tried to put our discussion down into my usual format of 5 questions and here it is.

Friday, January 17, 2020

Bad Boys for Life - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Finally a Will Smith movie that I enjoyed. I havent seen the previous Bad Boys movies and the only thing familiar was the franchise theme song . That is why cant really comment how it was vs. it's predecessors but to be honest, to enjoy this one you don't really need to know the predecessors, which is a big plus point for me in any franchise. This movie follows a tried and tested formula and it works here. A muscular stylish bachelor partnered with a funny family (wife fearing) man, bringing necessary relatable humor and exciting action together while they chase bad guys and solve crimes.

Saturday, January 11, 2020

1917 - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Every Indian and Pakistani should see this movie to really understand the horrors of War. In 1917 Sam Mendes has so realistically and brilliantly put on screen what our brothers go through when there is war and it's not pretty, it's not heroic, it's just pure ugly horror.

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


First film of 2020 and what a major disappointment. Such films work on two major elements , first that they create 16th/ 17th century magical world of kings and queens that we all romanticize and the element of patriotism/heroism they carry. Both of the elements were missing in this Om Raut directorial. Production and direction is very mediocre here coupled with amateur graphics, the world they create can't match the levels we get in dozens of recent period films. And patriotism doesn't make sense either, a Maratha fighting a Rajput to expand their emperor's boundaries beyond their homeland so for me taking sides is not easy.

Friday, December 6, 2019

Panipat: The Great Betrayal - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)



As a Muslim from Indian subcontinent I feel this idea that Hindus being the real people of the land and Muslims being the foreign invaders is flying very high these days in India which has also reached the Bollywood movies these days and is very evident. To the extent that we see Marathas, Sikhs, Rajputs being the national heroes while Mughals, Nizams and Nawabs who actually brought prosperity unity to India are now standing in the same line as British colonizers who left country divided and broke. What this does is, strips Muslim of their Identity as people of this land and this is not pleasant being a Muslim. As Ashutosh’s Jodha Akbar tried hard to make this great Indian king, Indian so I thought this one would be different. But sadly no, you give us a victory song which talks about having Shiv in heart and make the Muslims in Maratha Army sing and dance to it with similar conviction as if they were Hindus reflecting the idea that to be a patriotic Indian you need to be a Hindu - something I really didn’t like. I will never expect Hindus in Mughal army to be shown saying Takbeer then why Har Har Mahadev is the slogan here when Peshwa Army was meant to represent the diversity of India. But again, we desi tend to take movies way to seriously, it's still a medium of entertainment and should be reviewed as an entertainer. So here is my review after keeping aside the sentiments and distortion of historical facts.

Friday, August 9, 2019

Superstar - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


At one point in second half , Bilal Ashraf tells Nadeem Baig that "Opening bahut strong thee but mid mein garbar ho gaeee (Opening was strong but things got messed up in middle)" and in the same conversation Nadeem Baig says "Kahani ko agay badhao (Move story forward)", these words represented my exact sentiments at that time in the film as well. Film started beautifully and stayed pleasant till interval but then director Mohammed Ehteshamuddin got lost between characters and storyline which resulted in a much slower pace and convoluted narrative with an abrupt hurried end.

Thursday, August 8, 2019

Parey Hut Love - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Since the revival of Pakistani Cinema , Dubai cinemas on Eid ul Adha are dominated by major releases from Lollywood. It almost feels like Pakistani movies have found their right time and space in Dubai movie scene. So for this Eid we are having two very interesting releases and I chose to go first with "Parey Hut Love", simply because I loved Ho Mann Jahan and was desperately waiting for Asim Raza's next movie. With this one I was expecting a simple story of complicated characters, visually pleasing and beautifully coordinated scenes, brilliant performances and entertaining music. And I am happy to say that Asim Raza's vision is a pleasant experience and the visual spectacular that he created made me forget all the flaws it has in its storytelling.