Sunday, May 19, 2019

Travel Wisdom – Weekend Trips and how to plan

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Instagram is full of travel bloggers with perfect beach bodies telling their audience in perfect written quotes that you live only once and life is short, so enjoy the max possible. What no one tells is that Life is short and budgets are even shorter. Story of every middle class, corporate slave, Desi travel enthusiast like me. I guess we all have seen ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’, where Ranbir Kapoor, to pursue his passion for traveling has to detached himself from his world (friends/ family) and responsibilities to an extent that he finds out 2 weeks late about his father’s demise, and that’s kind a true for our world. If you immerse yourself into Desi world as a responsible adult following the fixed path that most of us follow, you will always have millions of responsibilities and priorities unless you are an Ambani or Zardari. As a result, you will always be short of time and if you manage to find some time to travel then budget constraints will always be there.

I have found a solution for this, which works, at least for me and that is "weekend trips". Instead of planning a full fledge trip that spans over weeks just plan a quick getaway manageable with in available weekend, so you can save your annual leave for the important family events that you may need to attend throughout the year and being in Dubai gives us this amazing opportunity of budget travels with amazing weekend offers, easy on pocket as well.

This year I travelled to Turkey for 2 nights cost 1200 Dirhams (flight and hotel only), 3 nights to Georgia cost 1099 Dirhams (flight and hotel only) and without having this facility of weekend getaways I would have never been able to travel to these two amazing places in the first 3 months of 2019.

My major concern is always how to cover a country having thousands of years of history and hundreds of touristic sites in just 3 days and for that I have developed a simple five step planning process which ensures I see/ experience most of what that country has to offer in whatever time/resources I have. Here it is.

Saturday, May 11, 2019

Brightburn - movie review(3.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


What an interesting take on the classic tale of Superman. An alien boy raised by Human Parents who then finally becomes mankind savior, here basic plot elements are kind a same as we have already seen in trailers but there is a twist, our little boy in red cape is no mankind savior in fact he is here to take over the world.

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Avengers: Endgame (Spoiler Free Movie Review - Desi Rating:5/5 stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)

 
I am trying really hard not to give spoilers in my review but I have been through way too much exciting stuff in 3 hours of this film that I have an urge to talk about it all but for now I will refrain from it for you guys, and also as we all know Thanos demand your silence. Russo brother's Avengers: Endgame is a treat for marvel fans and ticks all boxes from expectations perspective. All what I wanted to see is there and is better and bigger than my expectations. There was alot of noise about it being 3 hours long and having no interval but it doesnt feel that long infact I wanted to see more, for me it finished to fast.

Monday, April 22, 2019

Kalank - Movie Review (2.5/5 stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Abhishek Verman 's Kalank will remind you of Sanjay Leela Bhansali's work at every step.
Opening sequence of Alia will remind you of opening sequence of Ashwarya from Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam, bare chested Varun in white shalwar will remind you of Ranveer in white lungi from Ram Leela, Madhuri's Bahar Begum feels like aged version of her earlier character Chandramukhi from Bhansali's Devdas. What Abhishek took from Bhansali successfully is the grandeur visual spectacle that Bhandali usually puts up for the audience what Abhishek fails miserably to borrow from him is his ability to tell story with complexed characters in complicated situation with intense emotions and drama.

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Desi Bites - April 2019

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)



This week in Desi Bites I have coverage of The Mystical Dream (a concert where power houses of Pakistani Music Industry came together), Tabah Ho Gaye- Madhuri’s Kalank oriented performance and Netflix suggestion for the weekend.

Friday, April 5, 2019

Project Ghazi - Movie Review (1/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)




Project Ghazi is a clear example of gap between ambition/idea and capabilities/resources/experience. 8 crore rupees is a good budget for a Pakistani film but makers' lack of experience of this genre make this project appear kind of a low budget school project.

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

SHAZAM! - Movie Review (3.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Shazam! is the seventh installment in the DC Extended Universe (DCEU) and with this one DCEU continues its track of decent entertainers that started with Wonder Woman. DC comic characters are more popular, unique and interesting compared to Marvel ones, but they always lacked great visual representation but now since that has been fixed we can enjoy these characters even more, which is the case here as well.

Monday, April 1, 2019

April - Playlist

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)





April is going to be another exciting month for Movie fans especially for those who are into larger than life visual experience. We have many interesting releases but there are 4 major releases of my interest from the three industries that I follow.
Month will start with Shazam (from Hollywood) and Project Ghazi (from Lollywood) followed by mid-month mega release of Kalank (from Bollywood) and finally month closing with magnum opus Avengers-Endgame.