Friday, December 14, 2018

Pinky Memsaab: A Dubai Story ( Movie Review 3.5/5 Stars)


By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)



Pinky Memsaab is an experience, it’s a bouquet of unique characters and their emotions/personal journeys put together by debutant director Shazia Ali Khan. As a Desi expat living in Dubai one can relate to it on so many levels which makes it even more interesting.

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Aquaman (Movie Review 4/5 stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)



DC is getting there and creating a niche of their own. Finally, a fast-pace adventure movie with bright visuals, thrilling action set pieces and convincing CGI to come from the world of DC. I know you would say, Wonder Woman is already there from DC in this regard but believe me even wonder woman wasn’t this happy and lit. I have never seen a diverse super hero movie like this, imagine “Lord Of The Ring” with tone/treatment of “Thor Ragnarok” enhanced with CGIs like “Valerian” while being set underwater. Amidst all of this, massive screen presence of Jason Momoa takes you on a journey that will satisfy the comic nerd in you to the core.

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Movie Review : 4/5 Stars)


By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse is the coolest super hero movie ever made. I am usually not a fan of animation movies but as an audience I was so engrossed in the narrative and characters on screen that I forgot if it was an animation or live action. Animation is also unique and brings the actual format of comic books to life.

Sunday, December 2, 2018

2.0 (Movie Review 2/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Shankar's grand spectacular 2.0 has it all , first grade CGI , two superstars , a believable story line embedded with a great message but what it doesn’t have is the subtle art of knowing when to stop which makes this whole experience exhausting and tiring.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (Movie Review 2.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Hollywood these days is all about cinematic universes we have MCU, DC universe, Monsterverse, StarWars universe etc. and the thing about such movies is that audience already has a set of expectations. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald belongs to Wizarding World and is the second instalment in the Fantastic Beasts film series, and the tenth overall considering the Harry Potter film series. As an audience my expectations with the Wizarding World movies are adventurous storyline, unique Wizarding world elements (flying brooms, mysterious creatures etc.) and Magic, lots of CGI, wand waving, unique chanting driven Magic. Do we get all that with “Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald”? my answer is Yes but maybe not in a balanced format.

Friday, September 7, 2018

The Nun - Movie Review (3/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Basic criteria to judge a horror film as I always say is how good it is in scaring the audience and The Nun does a very decent job in that perspective. What makes a horror flick from decent to great is its ability to stay with you after it's over and let your imaginative mind keep the experience alive, that's where The Nun doesn't score well.

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Final Round Of Pepsi Battle Of The Bands - Time to decide Xarb or Bayaan

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Finally the Pepsi Battle of the Bands is wrapping up for the season. Voting lines are open and winner will be announced soon.
Last 2 episodes were the best so far this season especially Episode 6 where the theme was old classics from Pakistani film music.

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Load Wedding - Movie Review (4/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Nabeel Qureshi's Load Wedding is a satire on issues within Pakistani lower middleclass family culture with just the right mixture of comedy, complex characters and intense emotions. The best thing about this film is that it educates and entertains at the same time.