Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Avengers: Endgame (Spoiler Free Movie Review - Desi Rating:5/5 stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)

 
I am trying really hard not to give spoilers in my review but I have been through way too much exciting stuff in 3 hours of this film that I have an urge to talk about it all but for now I will refrain from it for you guys, and also as we all know Thanos demand your silence. Russo brother's Avengers: Endgame is a treat for marvel fans and ticks all boxes from expectations perspective. All what I wanted to see is there and is better and bigger than my expectations. There was alot of noise about it being 3 hours long and having no interval but it doesnt feel that long infact I wanted to see more, for me it finished to fast.

Monday, April 22, 2019

Kalank - Movie Review (2.5/5 stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Abhishek Verman 's Kalank will remind you of Sanjay Leela Bhansali's work at every step.
Opening sequence of Alia will remind you of opening sequence of Ashwarya from Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam, bare chested Varun in white shalwar will remind you of Ranveer in white lungi from Ram Leela, Madhuri's Bahar Begum feels like aged version of her earlier character Chandramukhi from Bhansali's Devdas. What Abhishek took from Bhansali successfully is the grandeur visual spectacle that Bhandali usually puts up for the audience what Abhishek fails miserably to borrow from him is his ability to tell story with complexed characters in complicated situation with intense emotions and drama.

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Desi Bites - April 2019

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)



This week in Desi Bites I have coverage of The Mystical Dream (a concert where power houses of Pakistani Music Industry came together), Tabah Ho Gaye- Madhuri’s Kalank oriented performance and Netflix suggestion for the weekend.

Friday, April 5, 2019

Project Ghazi - Movie Review (1/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)




Project Ghazi is a clear example of gap between ambition/idea and capabilities/resources/experience. 8 crore rupees is a good budget for a Pakistani film but makers' lack of experience of this genre make this project appear kind of a low budget school project.

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

SHAZAM! - Movie Review (3.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Shazam! is the seventh installment in the DC Extended Universe (DCEU) and with this one DCEU continues its track of decent entertainers that started with Wonder Woman. DC comic characters are more popular, unique and interesting compared to Marvel ones, but they always lacked great visual representation but now since that has been fixed we can enjoy these characters even more, which is the case here as well.

Monday, April 1, 2019

April - Playlist

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)





April is going to be another exciting month for Movie fans especially for those who are into larger than life visual experience. We have many interesting releases but there are 4 major releases of my interest from the three industries that I follow.
Month will start with Shazam (from Hollywood) and Project Ghazi (from Lollywood) followed by mid-month mega release of Kalank (from Bollywood) and finally month closing with magnum opus Avengers-Endgame.

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Captain Marvel - Movie Review (2.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck ‘s written and directed Captain Marvel is the 21st installment in the Marvel cinematic universe and the weakest entertainer from the ensemble in my perspective. Don’t take me wrong it’s still a well-made, visually pleasing, action packed usual Marvel entertainer but considering it to be the first female lead super hero film from MCU, it was given that it will be compared to Wonder Woman (the first female lead DC film). And somehow in comparison it lacks the oomph’s and punches big time. I was expecting a lot more from Captain Marvel after ‘Infinity War’, as she was termed as the savior, the most powerful of all, so when you get a mediocre origin story like this, you as a Marvel fan are destined to be disappointed.

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Simmba - Movie Review ( 3.5/5 Stars)

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


With Simmba, Rohit Shetty officially introduces his cinematic universe of super heroes or I must say Super Policemen. This universe has now two super policemen Sigham and Simmba. Let me share a secret, wait for the pre credit song scene and you will get a glimpse of the third super policeman, who will be introduced in 2019. Just like any Marvel super hero origin movie , Simmba is also one origin movie and has all the ingredients in balanced proportions.