Saturday, February 15, 2020

Travel Wisdom - Travelling Alone : Reasons/Justifications

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


When I sent a picture of me in front of Hagia Sophia in a family WhatsApp group, first response I got was “It's so much better when you visit with your wife " and then the second one was “Only Hamza will go to Cairo and Istanbul alone leaving his loving wife back in Ajman." Not only in my family, but in fact almost everyone asked me the same question that why I travel alone? And my response to all of them is Why Not.

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Meera – A Star in Oblivion

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)

Meera with Husband at PISA 2020

Last weekend (7th Feb 2020) we had Pakistan International Screen Awards 2020 the inaugural event in Dubai and it was a big success in many ways. The biggest success element for me was PISA 2020’s ability to bring so many stars from different eras of Pakistan entertainment industry together.
90’s super star and in many ways still one of the biggest crowd pullers of Pakistani Industry, Meera was also in attendance. She was also nominated in Best Actress category for her 2019 release film ‘Baaji’. She was the first one on the red carpet, stayed throughout the event and styled by Rao Ali Khan in outfits by Aleena Fareena, Asma Munir and HSY was one of the best dressed of the night as well.

Friday, January 31, 2020

Dream Destination & three things I didn't like - Giza Pyramids Complex

Written & photography By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Nine years old me, wanted to be an archaeologist only because of the fascination with ancient Egyptian culture and Giza pyramids. Giza pyramids have been on my bucket list for as long as I can remember, and I would love to go back to Pyramids and Cairo in a heartbeat. When I visited Giza pyramids, I was mesmerized by the engineering marvel of ancient world and it met my expectation fully but there were also few things that really disappointed me from overall experience perspective.

Sunday, January 26, 2020

Panga - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


After a long time, I have seen a complete Indian film. Panga is a masterclass in film making. Screenplay flows smoothly, characters are written well, and nothing seems unnecessary or extra. Characters are relatable, set in the most realistic surroundings with the most natural interactions among them and are performed to perfection. The range Kangana shows as an actor is impressive and it's not only Kangana everyone else has done an impeccable job.

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Street Dancer 3D - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Nora Fatehi is a dance goddess if you don’t believe me then go watch Remo D'Souza ‘s Street Dancer 3D. When we go for a movie like Street Dancer 3D, we expect great music, engaging storyline, lovable star cast and crazy dance moves. This one has it all and on top of that, there is a very sweet message wrapped with in the narrative that humanity is above all other associations like nationality, religion etc. The only thing it suffers from is relatively weaker direction but between Nora Fatehi's electrifying dance steps and Prabhu Deva's nostalgic Moqabla moves this issue never emerges fully.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Social Connect with Sana Fakhar

Interview and Photography by Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)





I last interviewed Sana Fakhar for my social connect segment in 2018 and since then we stayed in touch. When I found out she is here in Dubai for some collaboration, I contacted her for an interview, to which she agreed. My idea was to interview post success of GEO network's drama "Tu Mera Junoon" and about her second innings in Pakistan entertainment industry. We met in Dubai Festival City mall and interview soon turned into a discussion on important topics like individuality, feminism, fitness etc. and I was really impressed with how evolved she is as a human being.
I still tried to put our discussion down into my usual format of 5 questions and here it is.

Friday, January 17, 2020

Bad Boys for Life - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Finally a Will Smith movie that I enjoyed. I havent seen the previous Bad Boys movies and the only thing familiar was the franchise theme song . That is why cant really comment how it was vs. it's predecessors but to be honest, to enjoy this one you don't really need to know the predecessors, which is a big plus point for me in any franchise. This movie follows a tried and tested formula and it works here. A muscular stylish bachelor partnered with a funny family (wife fearing) man, bringing necessary relatable humor and exciting action together while they chase bad guys and solve crimes.

Saturday, January 11, 2020

1917 - Movie Review

By Hamza Shafique (Instagram / Facebook)


Every Indian and Pakistani should see this movie to really understand the horrors of War. In 1917 Sam Mendes has so realistically and brilliantly put on screen what our brothers go through when there is war and it's not pretty, it's not heroic, it's just pure ugly horror.